Services/Sync/Addon Sync: Difference between revisions

→‎Are Add-on Settings Synchronized?: Update to archived article for Syncing_custom_preferences
(→‎Are Add-on Settings Synchronized?: Update to archived article for Syncing_custom_preferences)
 
(3 intermediate revisions by one other user not shown)
Line 42: Line 42:
This is a complicated issue and the decision was driven mainly by privacy and security concerns.
This is a complicated issue and the decision was driven mainly by privacy and security concerns.


We understand that most users (possibly even an overwhelming majority of them) will want add-on sync to *just work* when they upgrade to a Firefox that supports it. However, there are a number of issues with this.
We understand that most users (possibly even an overwhelming majority of them) will want add-on sync to ''just work'' when they upgrade to a Firefox that supports it. However, there are a number of issues with this.


Most of the issues center around unexpected behavior when syncing add-ons for the first time. It is possible for an existing Sync user to unknowingly launch a Firefox version that supports add-on sync (where the previous version didn't). This could be due to silent Firefox updates, a system upgrade performed by an IT administrator, another user on the machine upgrading Firefox, etc. The first time this device synchronizes, it could pull down add-ons from another device (again, it is possible the other device had add-on sync configured unbeknownst to the user). There are a few issues here:
Most of the issues center around unexpected behavior when syncing add-ons for the first time. It is possible for an existing Sync user to unknowingly launch a Firefox version that supports add-on sync (where the previous version didn't). This could be due to silent Firefox updates, a system upgrade performed by an IT administrator, another user on the machine upgrading Firefox, etc. The first time this device synchronizes, it could pull down add-ons from another device (again, it is possible the other device had add-on sync configured unbeknownst to the user). There are a few issues here:
Line 78: Line 78:
For add-on authors, to sync settings using Sync, there are effectively 3 methods.
For add-on authors, to sync settings using Sync, there are effectively 3 methods.


# Synchronize preferences (see https://developer.mozilla.org/en/Firefox_Sync/Syncing_custom_preferences)
# Synchronize preferences (see https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Archive/Mozilla/Firefox_Sync/Syncing_custom_preferences)
# Build a Sync engine (if you need to sync more than just preferences). If you need this, please drop by the #sync channel in [[IRC]] so you can chat with a Sync developer (there are some important details not currently captured formally in any docs).
# Build a Sync engine (if you need to sync more than just preferences). If you need this, please drop by the #sync channel in [[IRC]] so you can chat with a Sync developer (there are some important details not currently captured formally in any docs).
# Build it yourself, not using Sync.
# Build it yourself, not using Sync.


We recognize that having all add-on settings magically synchronize would be a useful feature. We are exploring options for facilitating this. Unfortunately, nothing made the first cut for add-on sync.
We recognize that having all add-on settings magically synchronize would be a useful feature. We are exploring options for facilitating this. Unfortunately, nothing made the first cut for add-on sync.
===Can I have different enabled states on different machines?===
Yes. If you set the preference ''services.sync.addons.ignoreUserEnabledChanges'' to true in '''about:config''' (you may need to create this preference), Sync will not process changes to the enabled state of add-on records coming from the Sync server. However, that Sync client will still generate outgoing record changes, which means that local changes will propagate to clients not having that preference set.
If this preference is set to true, all add-on installs will be installed in the enabled state. However, you can immediately disable the add-on and incoming enabled state changes won't be applied. However, uninstalls will be applied.
Confirmed users
52

edits