Personal tools

Japan/Events/MozillaVision2012/Conference

From MozillaWiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Mozilla-vision-2012-header.jpg

Program

On the first day of the conference, Satoko Takita(aka "chibi"), the chairperson of Mozilla Japan, will discuss the concept of “Openness” followed by a panel discussion regarding open education. In the afternoon, participants may attend sessions to learn about the latest Web technologies, Mozilla'project, and practical examples of open approaches. In addition, we will also organize DemoPit and Lightning Talks from openly invited presenters.

Please note that the program is subject to change.

Ustream-logo.png
The live broadcast with simultaneous interpretation will be available!

10:00 - 11:00 (JST) Opening/Special Talk Session:
Pursuing Dreams - Technology and Creation from an Open Mind

Ustream
January 20th (Fri) 17:00 - 18:00 (PST)
January 20th (Fri) 20:00 - 21:00 (EST)
January 21st (Sat) 1:00 - 2:00 (WET)

Navigators
Jun Murai, Keio University
Satoko Takita “Chibi”, Mozilla Japan
Guest
Tomotaka Takahashi, Robot Creator
Overview
Lead by Dr. Jun Murai (Dean, Faculty of Environment and Information Studies, Keio University) and Ms. Satoko Takita “Chibi” (Chair of the Board of Director, Mozilla Japan), this talk session will be held with Robot Creator Mr. Tomotaka Takahashi about the theme: “Open Mind.”

11:00 - 12:30 (JST) Panel Discussion: Raise Golden Eggs! - Discussing the Future Education Style

Ustream
January 20th (Fri) 18:00 - 19:30 (PST)
January 20th (Fri) 21:00 - 22:30 (EST)
January 21st (Sat) 2:00 - 3:30 (WET)

Moderator
Kaoru Takeuchi, Science Writer
Panelists
Mark Surman, Mozilla Foundation
Kim Jones, Curriki
Shinpei Toyofuku, International Univeristy of Japan, GLOCOM
Overview
Will “Open” be a key for educating children who have so much potential to innovate in the future? Can we change children's motivations by open education? Is raising such “golden eggs” possible? We will discuss these questions by conversing with international guests who have practiced barrier-free education, and learning in open environments.

13:30 - 14:20 (JST)

The Future of HTML5 and Web Technology - Overview of the Latest Web Technologies for Everyone

Ustream
January 20th (Fri) 20:30 - 21:20 (PST)
January 20th (Fri) 23:30 - 0:20 (EST)
January 21st (Sat) 4:30 - 5:20 (WET)

Presenter
Chris Heilmann, Mozilla Corporation
Overview
The world of Web technologies continues to progress rapidly today. As Web technologies become more standardized such as HTML5, CSS3, and JavaScript, and as unexpected bugs and incompatibilities between browsers are reduced it is now possible to build very sophisticated and complex applications using only Web technologies. In this session, Chris Heilmann will introduce not only the latest Web technologies, but also those to come in the future.

Bringing True “Open” to the Mobile Industry - “Boot to Gecko” for Smartphones Coming Soon

Presenter
Andreas Gal, Mozilla Corporation
Chris Jones, Mozilla Corporation
Overview
Mozilla has been developing a new OS for Web applications for mobile devices, “Boot to Gecko”, and plans to release in 2012. By implementing and standardizing as Web APIs technology for controlling devices such as cameras or vibrations, or communication functions such as phone dialing and SMS, Mozilla aims to develop a fully-functioning environment entirely from open Web technologies. In this session, Andreas Gal and Chris Jones will present and demonstrate the latest Web APIs and Boot to Gecko.

Viewing from the Designer's Perspective - The Potentials of Open Source Products: OLIVE

Presenter
NOSIGNER
Overview
Designing products using Open Source has the potential to build new relations between users and designers. Wiki service OLIVE was launched just 40 hours after the earthquake hit Northeast Japan in March 2011 with the goal of collecting Open Source product designs to support victims. OLIVE succeeded in forming a large community, recording 1 million page views on their website in just one month and has collected approximately 200 design ideas to date. We will discuss the potential of Open Source products through presenting the accomplishments of OLIVE, and the methodologies for inspiring design ideas.

14:30 - 15:20 (JST)

The Current and Future of Web Standards

Ustream
January 20th (Fri) 21:30 - 22:20 (PST)
January 21st (Sat) 0:30 - 1:20 (EST)
January 21st (Sat) 5:30 - 6:20 (WET)

Presenter
Tantek Çelik, Mozilla Corporation
Overview
Well recognized as one of the main editors of CSS as well as a core developer of IE for Macintosh in his Microsoft era, Tantek Çelik is one of the most influential leaders of the evolving Web technologies. From his perspective as a long-term contributor to the standardization of Web technologies, Tantek will outline the differences in standardization process amongst W3C, WHATWG, as well as microformats.org which was he founded. In addition, Tantek will discuss standardization in the future as well as the standardization activities he is currently engaged in at Mozilla.

The Reborn Mobile Version of Firefox

Presenter
Mark Finkle, Mozilla Corporation
Overview
Since the Android version of Firefox is implemented using the same rendering engine as the desktop version of Firefox it promotes one open Web consistently displayed, rather than a fragmented and closed mobile Web. However, by introducing a Native UI for Android great performance improvements, particularly with regards to startup time and scrolling performance, have been achieved. In this session, Mark Finkle will give a sneak preview of the future of the mobile version of Firefox, such as the greatly revamped user interface, optimization for tablets, and future development plans.

Power of Open and Beyond

Presenter
Dominick Chen, Creative Commons Japan
Overview
Starting with the idea of copyleft and taking inspiration from the software culture of Open Source, Creative Commons promoted a license model and many cultural projects that freed the content ecosystem from the gravity of copyrights around the world. Today, after 10 years of practice, over 500 million pieces of open content available on the Internet truly constitute a world we can call an ecosystem. As a result, through the dynamic of Internet culture, creativity and learning are closely linked and cultural and social value can now be scientifically evaluated. During this presentation, many practical examples including those from those fields not directly related to Creative Commons will be discussed as Dominick Chen of Creative Commons Japan illustrates what lies behind openness for all of us.

15:30 - 16:20 (JST)

The Web Application Store Strategy of Mozilla – Creating a Truly “Open” Ecosystem

Presenter
Tomoya Asai, Mozilla Japan
Overview
The Web is becoming an OS itself as sophisticated applications can now be created by entirely from Open Web technologies. However there remain no open, vendor-independent platforms for distributing, authenticating, and receiving payment for such applications. In this session Tomoya Asai will explain why Mozilla is developing application store technology, what kind of system it is, and how developers can use it to distribute applications.

pdf.js - Challenging the Limits of HTML5 and JavaScript

Ustream
January 20th (Fri) 22:30 - 23:20 (PST)
January 21st (Sat) 1:30 - 2:20 (EST)
January 21st (Sat) 6:30 - 7:20 (WET)

Presenter
Andreas Gal, Mozilla Corporation
Chris Jones, Mozilla Corporation
Overview
Until recently, PDF documents on the Web have been displayed by a plugin written in native code. However, since plugins frequently become the cause of security holes, Mozilla is developing a library called “pdf.js” which can draw PDF documents using only JavaScript. In this session Andreas Gal and Chris Jones will discuss what kind of techniques are used to implement heavy-weight functions such as rendering PDF documents with only JavaScript. They will also explain the limitations of Canvas' APIs and how Firefox's implementation of these APIs has been improved to overcome these limitations.

Building a generation of "web maker" — The Way Mozilla Perceives Education

Presenter
Mark Surman, Mozilla Foundation
Overview
While we may have been viewing the Web as contents for consumption, the Web experience will become much richer if each user not only utilizes but also creates the Web and becomes a “web maker.” Under the mission of promoting the openness of the Web and innovation on the Web, Mozilla has been organizing a variety of public benefit activities to this end. For example, Mozilla is providing learning programs and software to teach necessary Web technologies in order to become a “web maker.” Mozilla has also created Web literacy badge to recognize acquired skills. This session introduces Mozilla's new approach to seamlessly integrate education and society.

16:40 - 17:40 (JST) Lightning Talks

Ustream
January 20th (Fri) 23:40 - 0:40 (PST)
January 21st (Sat) 2:40 - 3:40 (EST)
January 21st (Sat) 7:40 - 8:40 (WET)

Host
Hiroyuki Hourin, Unix User Association of Japan
Overview
short presentations where each presenter will speak passionately for 5 minutes. We wait for proposal of presentations about the theme: “Mozilla or the Web's standard technologies,” or “A new approach with an open concept.”

17:45 - 19:30 Mozilla Vision Night

Overview
After the sessions and Lightning Talks, participants and presenters will have a party. Participants can enjoy DemoPit as well during the party.

※ Please note that only participants of the conference can attend the Mozilla Vision Night.

12:30 - 19:30 DemoPit

Overview

DemoPit is a demonstration corner located in the lounge on Conference Day site. With “A new approach with an open concept” as a theme, several booths will present not only demonstrations of Mozilla-related or Web technologies, but also hardware, art, and academic approaches.