Personal tools

Support/Firefox Features/Clean up user profile/TestPlan

From MozillaWiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Reset Firefox

Feature Status Release Target Dev Lead QA Lead Status
Reset Firefox Partially landed Firefox 13 Matt Noorenberghe Ioana Budnar Signed off

Summary

  • This feature provides a way for users to automatically fix Firefox by creating a new profile and migrating their data. It can be accessed three different ways:
    • When the user attempts to re-install Firefox (same version is already installed), he is offered the option to reset Firefox. Note that the reset process is performed by Firefox, not by the installer.
    • After Firefox crashes three consecutive times at start-up, it will offer to either reset Firefox or to start in safe mode.
    • The user can open the Troubleshooting Information page (about:support) and click the Reset Firefox button.
  • When the user chooses to reset Firefox, Firefox will:
    • Confirm with the user what actions are about to be taken
    • Create a new user profile
    • Migrate the user data (bookmarks, history, saved passwords, autofill form/search data, cookies, extensions and themes)
    • Reset the toolbars and controls
    • Reset all the user preferences to Firefox defaults
    • Disable all the add-ons and switch to the default theme
    • Restart using the new profile.
  • Since OS X and Linux don't have installers, there is no way to trigger this process for them upon re-installation. The rest of the cases are valid for them too.

Notes:

  • Add-ons are not migrated at all yet. - 2012-05-07
  • The user's Sync account is not migrated either. - 2012-05-07

References

Use Cases

  • The user chooses to reset Firefox while re-installing it.
  • After three consecutive start-up crashes, the user selects the option to reset Firefox.
  • The user opens about:support, then clicks the Reset Firefox button.
  • The reset process is started, then it gets cancelled.
  • The user gathers a rich profile then he resets Firefox.
  • Firefox is opened with a clean profile, then it gets reset.
  • The user starts private browsing, then it resets Firefox.
  • Firefox is opened in safe mode, then the user resets it.
  • The user manually closes the Firefox process while it's being reset.
  • The OS gets restarted while resetting Firefox.
  • Firefox is reset multiple consecutive times.
  • OS restore after cleaning up a Firefox profile.
  • Reset the Firefox profile after restoring the OS.
  • Reset Firefox after updating it from an already reset profile.
  • Setup sync, then reset the Firefox profile.

Test Cases

  • The test cases for this feature can be viewed here.

Important Bugs

ID Summary Priority Status
715315 Ensure source Firefox profile is not in use during migration -- NEW
725904 Firefox Reset: handle when Sync is set up in source profile -- NEW
273874 Firefox migrator for new profiles -- VERIFIED
717070 Create button to initiate migration to a clean Firefox profile -- VERIFIED
721242 After using Firefox migrator, the password manager sometimes can't decrypt passwords -- VERIFIED
721265 Firefox migrator: form history support -- VERIFIED
731047 Clean up old profile after Firefox profile reset -- VERIFIED
732303 Redesign safe mode dialog with the profile reset option -- VERIFIED
735126 NS_ERROR_FAILURE from GetSelectedProfile if second profile added after non-default -- VERIFIED

Open; Resolved; Total (0% complete)


Not Tested

  • Clean install
  • Safe mode
  • Firefox migrators outside this feature (import user data from other browsers)

Sign off

Criteria
  • All the test cases were executed.
  • All the major bugs have been fixed.
Sign offs
  • Firefox 13.0
    • UI from safe mode dialog and installer not implemented yet.
    • Aurora - 2012-03-19
    • Beta 1 - 2012-04-26
    • Beta 2 - 2012-05-04
    • RC - 2012-06-04