B2G/QA

From MozillaWiki
< B2G
Jump to: navigation, search

Team Details

Overview

The B2G QA team is committed to qualifying the full spectrum of testing from backend (Gecko) to Frontend (Gaia). Test coverage will include a range of manual execution steps, automated test coverage, proper documentation, and community involvement projects.

Join us

Firefox OS is Mozilla's mobile phone operating system for the open Web, built entirely using HTML5 & standard Web APIs. Community is key to the success of the open Web.

If you want to help Firefox OS Quality Assurance activities, it's very easy to start.

New Contributors

If you are new to Mozilla Quality Assurance, you will need a Bugzilla account.

If you do not have a device running Firefox OS, you can get started with the Firefox OS Simulator inside the desktop Firefox browser.

Contributors with a Firefox OS Device

  • If your phone gets soft-bricked, bring it into fastboot mode and flash the base build again.

Simple Tasks

Get introduced to Firefox OS with simple testing tasks in One and Done that take as little as 15 minutes.

Communication Channels

A great place to get started is to join one of these communication channels where other people involved with Firefox OS Quality Assurance are available to help. Feel free to join one of the following and introduce yourself.

  • QA Roundtable meetings every week
  • B2G QA mailing list
  • #fxosqa IRC channel

Meetings

Functional QA Roundtable

Automation QA Roundtable

  • Details and minutes can be found here.

Device QA Roundtable

Notes Archives

Team Members

Team Member IRC Nick (#fxosqa, #appsqa, #qa) Location
Naoki Hirata nhirata San Francisco, CA
Martijn Wargers mwargers Wageningen, NL
John Dorlus Silne30 Orlando, FL
Krupa Raj kraj San Francisco, CA
Delphine Lebedel delphine Mountain View, CA
Marcia Knous marcia Mountain View, CA
No-Jun Park njpark Toronto, Canada
Paul Yang pyang Taipei, Taiwan
Al Tsai atsai Taipei, Taiwan
William Hsu whsu Taipei, Taiwan
Askeing Yen askeing, fyen Taipei, Taiwan
Walter Chen ypwalter, wachen Taipei, Taiwan
Shing Lyu slyu Taipei, Taiwan
Johan Lorenzo jlorenzo Paris, France
Hermes Cheng hermescheng Taipei, Taiwan
Alison Shiue ashiue Taipei, Taiwan
Mike Lien mlien Taipei, Taiwan
Gerry Chang gchang Taipei, Taiwan
Teri Wen twen Taipei, Taiwan
Shako Ho shako Taipei, Taiwan
Honorary Member IRC Nick (#fxosqa, #appsqa, #qa) Location
Parul Mathur pragmatic Mountain View, CA
Jamie Charlton Jamie_ Wassaic, NY

Projects

End to End QA

Overview

This group primarily focuses on doing end to end testing of end to end functionality through Gaia and Gecko, including the apps pre-installed on the device, phone features, etc.

References

B2G

Test Plans

Misc References

Firefox OS UX SPEC

Smoke Test

Test Run

Moztrap

Automation Tests

How to build

Triage Process

Checklist for Final Signoffs

Devices

Builds

Automation Development

Overview

This group primarily focuses on automation development across Gaia & Gecko.

References

Performance Acceptance Testing

Overview

Runs periodic performance acceptance tests at a larger scale than nightly Datazilla results

Results

Device QA outsource

Overview

Marigold is in charge of executing FxOS testing, and they covers following tasks requested by Mozilla. (Marigold is located in Chengdu, China)

  • Manual Test
    • Daily smoke test
    • Regression test
    • Full test
    • RAT test
    • Bug work (qawanted,regressionwindow-wanted)
  • Power consumption test
  • Gaia-UI-test [Planning]
  • Performance test [Planning]
  • Patch verify [Planning]

Information