Diversity and Inclusion Strategy/Community Participation Guidelines

From MozillaWiki
Jump to: navigation, search


In May 2017, Mozilla released the revised Community Participation Guidelines - Version 2.3 (hereto referred to as CPG). Please see this page for information on the background and process, the Brownbag schedule, contact info, and a continually updated set of Frequently Asked Questions.

You can find the CPG hosted on Mozilla.org: https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/about/governance/policies/participation/


This revision comes from years of community feedback and is in direct response to collected information from the Diversity and Inclusion Team's research findings of 2015-2016 that the previous version of the CPG, while important and well intended, is not sufficiently well understood or clear and enforceable to build foundational safety needed to create a truly inclusive and diverse Mozilla.


There were three specific goals in revising the CPG:
1. Scope: The CPG is for all Mozillians, not just staff or volunteer, but everyone.
2. Clarity: Both behavioral expectations and potential consequences are explicit, as is the process for raising issues and concerns.
3. Use Cases: The document provides the right level of detail around both digital and in person interactions, as well as specific guidance for those building events or online forums around extra steps to ensure adherence to the CPG in those spaces.

Revision Process

  • The revised CPG was drafted from a combination of existing guidelines and the Participation Team Safety Guidelines with the strong guidance of the resources below.
  • The draft was written and reviewed by a cross-functional team of Mozillians from: Diversity and Inclusion, members of the D&I Strategy Working Group, Mozilla Community Members, Mozilla Leadership Networks, Participation, Internal Communications, Firefox, Bugzilla community management, SUMO, Legal, and multiple external experts.
  • The draft was reviewed and approved by Mozilla leadership and then shared with community members in multiple forums including public blog posts, Discourse, Activate campaigns, and social media. Extensive feedback was collected and incorporated into the final draft.
  • The final draft was localized from English into 5 languages (Spanish, German, French, Traditional Mandarin, Portuguese) and published to mozilla.org
  • The CPG is a living document and feedback is always welcome and encouraged

Resources & Best Practices Reviewed

Brownbags & Roadshows


Please join Larissa Shapiro (Head of D&I) and Lizz Noonan (D&I Coordinator) in a Mozilla Space, the Inclusion Vidyo Room, or streaming on Air Mozilla to find out about the new CPG and the revision process.

After a short presentation, we will take questions from the offices, on Vidyo in Inclusion, and on #airmozilla in IRC and Slack. If you are unable to make it to one of the three sessions, the recordings will be available publicly on Air Mozilla.

Roadshow Workshops

In H2 2017, the Diversity and Inclusion Team will also hold CPG workshop sessions in various regions. Please check back in H2 2017 for more information on the CPG Roadshows.



If participating remotely, please join #airmozilla in IRC and Slack for questions and comments.

Region Date Time Locations Air Mozilla Link
Americas Monday 19 June 1 pm PT / 4 pm ET / 8 pm UTC Host:
Mountain View - Commons
Inclusion Vidyo Room
Portland - Commons
San Francisco - Commons
Vancouver - Commons
Toronto - Commons
Europe, Middle East, Africa Wednesday 21 June 7 am PT/ 2 pm UTC / 4 pm CET Host:
Inclusion Vidyo Room (Remote)
Toronto - Commons
Berlin - Wedding (120)
Paris - Commons
London - Commons
Asia Pacific Wednesday 21 June 3 am UTC / 12 pm JST / 8 pm PT Host:
Inclusion Vidyo Room (Remote)
Auckland - Rangitoto (703)
Taipei - Orange (462)
Tokyo - Fuyijama (2712)

Roadshow Workshops

More information forthcoming. Check back soon!


If you have questions or feedback on the CPG revision, please contact inclusion@mozilla.com, which reaches our Diversity & Inclusion Head, Larissa Shapiro, and our Director of Organizational Development, Tyler Haugen.


If you believe you’re experiencing unacceptable behavior, please contact inclusion@mozilla.com' and the designated person for your event, activity or Mozilla space. After receiving a concise description of your situation, they will review and determine next steps. In addition to conducting any investigation, they can provide a range of resources, from a private consultation to other community resources. They will involve other colleagues, including legal counsel, only as needed to appropriately address each situation.

Please also report to us if you observe a potentially dangerous situation, someone in distress, or violations of the guidelines, even if the situation is not happening to you.

If you feel you have been unfairly accused of violating the guidelines, please follow the same reporting process.