CA/Changing Trust Settings: Difference between revisions

Jump to navigation Jump to search
Line 84: Line 84:
The following describes how to delete a root certificate from your current instance of Firefox and Thunderbird.
The following describes how to delete a root certificate from your current instance of Firefox and Thunderbird.


'''Important:''' This change may be overridden when you restart the program. If the root certificate that you deleted is still in Mozilla's default root store, then the root certificate will be included again the next time you restart the program.
'''Important:''' Deleting a root certificate that is in the default root store is equivalent to turning off all of the trust bits for that root. Therefore, even though the root certificate will re-appear in the Certificate Manager, it will be treated as though you changed the trust bits of that root certificate to turn them all off.
 
'''Important:''' This change will have a permanent affect, such that the trust bits for the root certificate can only be changed again by you. This change will not be affected by upgrading to newer versions of Mozilla software.
 
'''Caution:''' It is strongly recommended that you note which root certificate you modify, so that you can turn the trust bits back on if the change negatively impacts your browsing experience.  
 


[[Firefox]]
[[Firefox]]
Confirmed users, Administrators
5,526

edits

Navigation menu