Personal tools

Platform/Games

From MozillaWiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Platform Games

The platform games initiative is made up of a core team whose works is primarily focused on making Firefox the best it can possibly be at running games. The core team is ready to help coordinate with other groups in the community who are working on features or optimization that are important to game developers and provide assistance when needed. 2013 platform development is going to have a big focus on games and we hope you are as excited as we are to make HTML5 rock on both Desktop and Mobile!

High Level Goal

2013 Goals for the platform that relates to games, updated Q2 2013

  • Firefox as premier platform for web game development and deployment
    • Benchmarking, both to maintain quality and against competition
    • Competitive performance against native apps (on mobile and desktop)
    • Deployment model on desktop and mobile
  • Web as just another porting target
    • Integrate tools with existing pipelines (Visual Studio, etc.)
    • Support synchronous IO, multiple CPUs, etc. without heavy code changes
      • Running entirely on web workers will definitely be required for sync IO and multicore
    • Easy porting frameworks for Android and iOS games to Firefox OS
    • Access to same capabilities as native apps (threading, SIMD, float32, etc.)

Activity

Projects Currently Underway

Note Worthy Bugs

  • bug 716859 - Streaming WebGL Buffers (Double-buffering, etc).
    • Key for WebGL performance on mobile.

Projects Slated to Start Soon

Recently Completed Projects

Related Projects

Bugzilla Queries

Priority

Release Targets

Duration

  • The games team will exist at least until the major obstacle facing game development are overcome. Currently that is expected to last until the end of 2013.

Communication

Project Team Meeting Wednesdays at 10:00 AM (PST)/1:00 PM (EST) for 60 mins
  • Vidyo Room: Vladimir Vukicevic's Vidyo Room
  • Invitation: Contact vladimir@mozilla.com (Vladimir Vukicevic) to get added to the meeting invite list.
  • Meeting Notes: Meeting Notes Etherpad
IRC
  • Server: irc.mozilla.org
  • Channel: #games

People

Games Platform & Research

  • Vladimir Vukicevic - <vladimir@mozilla.com>
  • Martin Best - <mbest@mozill.com>
  • Alan Kligman - <akligman@mozilla.com>
  • Alon Zakai - <azakai@mozilla.com>
  • Jeffrey Gilbert - <jgilbert@mozilla.com>
  • Jukka Jylänki - <jjylanki@mozilla.com>
  • Luke Wagner" <lwagner@mozilla.com>
  • Marco Mucci - <mmucci@mozilla.com>
  • Milan Sreckovic - <msreckovic@mozilla.com>
  • Naveed Ihsanullah - <nihsanullah@mozilla.com>
  • Maire Reavy - <mreavy@mozilla.com>
  • Paul Adenot - <padenot@mozilla.com>
  • Ted Mielczarek - <ted@mozilla.com>
  • Kannan Vijayan - <kvijayan@mozilla.com>
  • Peter Chang - <pchang@mozilla.com>

Games Documentation

  • Christopher Mills - <cmills@mozilla.com>
  • Eric Shepherd - <eshepherd@mozilla.com>

Games Partner Support

  • Bill Walker - <bwalker@mozilla.com>
  • Harald Kirschner - <hkirschner@mozilla.com>
  • Louis Stowasser - <lstowasser@mozilla.com>

Games Public Relationship Team

  • Paul Jarratt - <pjarratt@mozilla.com>
  • Shannon Prior - <sprior@mozilla.com>

Games QA

  • Anthony Hughes - <ahughes@mozilla.com>
  • Marc Schifer - <mschifer@mozilla.com>

To Be Kept Informed

  • Chloe Varelidi - <chloe@mozillafoundation.org>
  • Dave Herman - <dherman@mozilla.com>
  • Sean Stangl - <sstangl@mozilla.com>
  • Jeff Muizelaar - <jmuizelaar@mozilla.com>
  • Benoit Jacob - <bjacob@mozilla.com>

References