Program Management

From MozillaWiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Engineering project and program management is a young discipline for Mozilla. Project and program managers are connectors and facilitators who focus on issues that span organizational teams.

This wiki page lists the initiatives and goals of the program management team. It allows for a place to exchange process ideas and summarize meetings.

About Project and Program Management

Depending on the project, project and program managers may be responsible for one or more of the following:

  • project inception (investigation) and planning
  • goal and priority setting
  • expectation management
  • schedule
  • scope management
  • resource management
  • inter-team collaboration and negotiation

Furthermore, project and program managers frequently assist in:

  • running effective meetings
  • communicating project status


Find us on irc channel #pm for keeping in touch and collaboration.

Name E-mail IRC Focus Programs and Projects
Martin Best mbest at mozilla dot com mbest Game Keeper Bugzilla Anthropology, HTML5 Games
Jennifer Chaulk jchaulk at mozilla dot com jchaulk Firefox Android
Shell Escalante shell
Erin Lancaster elancaster at mozilla dot com elancaster Firefox for Android Mobile Performance
Lawrence Mandel lmandel at mozilla dot com lmandel Platform (Gecko) Mobile Web Compatibility, Snappy, Telemetry
Sheila Mooney smooney at mozilla dot com smooney Engineering Director, Program / Project Management CrashKill
Marco Mucci mmucci at mozilla dot com marcom Firefox Desktop Firefox Desktop
Chris Peterson cpeterson at mozilla dot com cpeterson Platform (Gecko) JS/SpiderMonkey, Geolocation
Candice Serran cserran at mozilla dot com cserran Firefox OS Firefox OS
Michael Treese mtreese at mozilla dot com mtreese Firefox OS Firefox OS
Bobby Chien bchien Firefox OS Firefox OS, Performance
Caitlin Galimidi (group distro list)
#marketplace Firefox Marketplace [Wiki]
Release Management Team (group distro list) #relman Firefox Desktop/Mobile/OS Releases Team Wiki



Bugzilla Anthropology

PM Martin Best

A deep dive into Mozilla's development practices via interviews and data mining Bugzilla.


PM Sheila Mooney

Killing top crashes in Firefox browsers.

Firefox Desktop

PM Marco Mucci

Firefox Desktop Web Browser.

Firefox OS

PM Dietrich Ayala, Michael Treese, Candice Serran

Mozilla's Web based mobile phone.

Firefox Marketplace

PM Caitlin Galimidi, Lindsay Saunders, Maris Fogels

Providing web content across platforms

HTML5 Games

EPM Erin Lancaster

A program to enable modern gaming on the HTML5 platform.

Firefox for Android

EPM Jenn Chaulk

Mobile Firefox.

Mobile Web Compatibility

PM Lawrence Mandel

Opening up the mobile Web to all browsers via best practices and standards based approaches.


PM Lawrence Mandel

Improving the responsiveness of the Firefox desktop browser.


PM Lawrence Mandel

Collecting real world Firefox instance data to facilitate development decisions.

Mozilla Metrics

PM Caitlin Galimidi

Providing dashboards and analytics to our product line owners and product decision makers


  • Quality
    • Performance + Responsiveness
    • Stability
    • Security
  • Paper cuts


Quarterly Goals

2015 Q1 Goals Q2 Goals Q3 Goals Q4 Goals
2014 Q1 Goals Q2 Goals Q3 Goals Q4 Goals
2013 Q1 Goals Q2 Goals Q3 Goals Q4 Goals
2012 Q1 Goals Q2 Goals Q3 Goals Q4 Goals
2011 Q2 Goals Q3 Goals Q4 Goals

Useful Links


Communication Type Mechanism Audience
Chat/IRC #pm all
Weekly sync Mondays, 9:00 AM PT
  • Dial-in: conference# 98585
    • People with Mozilla phones or softphones please dial x92 Conf# 98585
    • US/Toll-free: +1 800 707 2533, (pin 369) Conf# 98585 (max 48 users at any time)
    • US/California/Mountain View: +1 650 903 0800, x92 Conf# 98585
    • US/California/San Francisco: +1 415 762 5700, x92 Conf# 98585
    • US/Oregon/Portland: +1 971 544 8000, x92 Conf# 98585
    • CA/British Columbia/Vancouver: +1 778 785 1540, x92 Conf# 98585
    • CA/Ontario/Toronto: +1 416 848 3114, x92 Conf# 98585
    • UK/London: +44 (0)207 855 3000, x92 Conf# 98585
    • FR/Paris: +33 1 44 79 34 80, x92 Conf# 98585
    • or, for some clients, (may not work for all rooms)
    • Gmail Chat (requires Flash and the Google Talk plugin): paste +1 650 903 0800 into the Gmail Chat box that doesn't look like it accepts phone numbers
    • SkypeOut is free if you use the 800 number
  • Vidyo: ProgramManagement
  • IRC: #pm
Program Managers
Meeting summaries this wiki all

Minutes and Progress Reports


Get Involved!

Want to get involved in Firefox program/project management? Visit the Mozilla Stewards page and the Engineering Program Management role description page to get a sense of what's involved. And get in touch - via irc channel #pm or the dev-planning mailing list.